

INFORMATION SHEET

GENERAL PRESENTATION

NEREUS, the Network of European Regions Using Space Technologies currently counts 23 Full members and 36 Associate Members. Its permanent secretariat is based in Brussels and organised as an international not-for-profit association (Belgian a.i.s.b.l.). It is financially independent and is funded by membership fees (for membership list please see overleaf).

According to the NEREUS Political Charter the key objectives of the network are to provide a platform for:

- voicing the regional dimension of space policies at a political level
- making sure that the whole potential of space technologies is exploited for the benefit of European regions in respect of R&D as well as economic competitiveness
- enhancing the growing role of citizens in the development of a European space policy, and in the construction and development of space technology markets.
- information and knowledge exchange
- networking and building of strong partnerships
- mobilising convincing projects and initiatives

MEMBERSHIP CATEGORIES

Full Members (Regions)

Full Members are regions or regional entities from the EU Member States, which enjoy a level of autonomy ranking immediately after the state level, and are endowed with an independent political representation. If such criteria are not met the public institutions representing comparable regional entities may be admitted as Full Members.

Full Members have the right to vote in General Assemblies and their representative may be elected to the Management Board.

Associate Members

Associate Members are local authorities other than the Regions described above, companies, corporations, associations, foundations, banks, universities, firms, private actors, stakeholders, other networks, etc.., whose competence, knowledge and interests concur with the aims of the NEREUS network.

Associate Members are allowed to participate in all Working Group activities and have a consultative vote in General Assemblies.

ADHESION PROCEDURE

Adhesion requests should be sent in writing to the NEREUS Secretariat (see address below) for transmission to the Management Board, using the NEREUS Adhesion form. In their letter of motivation, candidates should introduce themselves and provide a description of their activities. They should also endorse the NEREUS Political Charter and NEREUS Statutes, and attach a signed copy of these documents to their adhesion request.

Finally they should commit to paying their annual membership fee upon receipt of the NEREUS invoice and request for payment.

All requests for adhesion are considered by the NEREUS Management Board who issues a recommendation to the General Assembly on the admission/rejection of new members. The General Assembly takes its decision by a majority of two thirds; this decision is final.

MEMBERSHIP FEES

 Full Members
 10,000 EUR per annum

 Associate Members
 5,000 EUR per annum

 - Companies with more than 250 employees
 5,000 EUR per annum

 - SME's with less than 250 employees
 1,000 EUR per annum

 - Local authorities, universities, research centres, non-pofit organisations and SME's with less than 50 employees
 500 EUR per 500 EUR per

Note: Membership fees are fixed annually by the General Assembly upon recommendation of the Management Board.

CONTACT ADDRESS

NEREUS a.i.s.b.l. – Secretariat

RA Roya AYAZI, Secretary General, c/o Representation of the State of Hessen to the EU 21, Rue Montoyer 1000 Brussels, Belgium Tel.: +32 (0)2 7347649 Website: <u>www.nereus-regions.eu</u> <u>rayazi.nereus@euregions4space.com</u>

Margarita Chrysaki, Communication / Project Officer Tel.: +32 (0)2 2305775 <u>Mchrysaki.nereus@euregions4space.com</u>

Full members

- Apulia Region (Italy)
- Azores Region (Portugal)
- Baden-Württemberg Region (Germany)
- Basilicata Region (Italy)
- Bavaria Region (Germany)
- Brittany Region (France)
- Catalunya Region (Spain)
- East Midlands Region (UK)
- Emilia Romagna Region (Italy)
- Free Hanseatic City of Bremen (Germany)
- Hesse Region (Germany)
- Madrid Region (Spain)
- Malopolska Region (Poland)
- Mazovia Region (Poland)
- Nouvelle Aquitaine Region (France)
- Occitania Region (France)
- Piedmont Region (Italy)
- Podkarpackie Region (Poland)
- South Holland Region (The Netherlands)
- Territorial Collectivity of French Guiana

(France)

- Tuscany Region (Italy)
- Veneto Region (Italy)
- Wallonia Region (Belgium)

Associate members

- AEIT Spanish Association of Telecommunication Engineers (Madrid)
- AIPAS Associazione delle imprese per le attività spaziali (Lazio)
- Airbus (Occitanie)
- Altec (Piedmont)
- Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Regional Energy Environment Agency (Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes)
 - ASI Italian Space Agency (Lazio)
- Cerema (Occitanie)
- CISAS Centro Interdipartimentale Studi e Attività Spaziali (Veneto)
- Cite de l'Espace (Occitanie)
- CNES Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (Occitanie)
- CNR-IREA Instituto per il rilevamento elettromagnetico dell'ambiente (Basilicata)
- Conftrasporto (Lazio)
- Consorzio TERN (Basilicata)
- CUT Cyprus University of Technology (Cyprus)
- DASS Sardinia Sardinia Aerospace District (Sardinia)
- Distretto Tecnologico Aerospaziale DTA (Puglia)
- Edisoft SA (The Azores)
- FFG Austrian Research Promotion Agency / ALR
 Aeronautics and Space Agency (City of Vienna)
- LR BW Forum Luft- und Raumfahrt Baden-Württemberg (Baden-Württemberg)
- Geoville Information Systems GMBH (Innsbruck)
- GIS Bretagne Télédétection (BreTel) (Bretagne)
- Instituto Europeo per lo Sviluppo Technico I.E.S.T. (Lombardy)
- IVAR (former CVARG) Instituto de Investigação em Vulcanologia e Avaliação de Riscos Fundação Gaspar Frutuoso Campus Universitário de Ponta Delgado (The Azores)
- Krakow Technology Park (Krakow)
- Laboratory of Atmospheric Physics, University of Patras (Western Greece)
- Observatoire Midi-P / CNRS (Occitanie)
- Pole Mer Bretagne (Bretagne)
- POLIMI (ABC dept.) Politecnico di Milano (Lombardy)
- POLITO Politecnico di Torino (Piedmont)
- SpaceTec Partners (Brussels)
- Space Technology Centre the of AGH University of Science and Technology (Malopolska)
- Technopôle Brest-Iroise (Bretagne)
- The Henryk Niewodniczański Institute of Nuclear Physics Polish Academy of Sciences (Malopolska)
- Universita di Torino (Piedmont)
- Universita di Bologna (Emilia Romagna)